Consumer goods have become the most important part of people's lives. Do the advantages outweight disadvantages?

Nowadays, consumer items have gained significant importance in our lives. Although there are such repercussions as contamination and materialism, I firmly believe that acquisition of the latest technology and consumerism might be the key point of rise in the standard of living. On the one hand, it is sometimes argued that unnecessary consumption could contribute pollution as the majority cultures are being thrown-away. By emulating other individuals, people could have become materialistic and buy products in unprecedented amounts which could be the reason of litter accumulation. What infers from this is that indulgence of luxury consumption into the routine would be the major cause of both disappearance of the cultures and increase in the number of environmental issues. And it is forecasted that these commodities would never be resurrected; however, the positive ramifications of mass production will contribute to the side-effects mentioned above, I think. On the other hand, in my opinion, there are compelling benefits of people integrating the utilization of consumer commodity into their daily life. Firstly, by using them, a person could save time. Taking computers as an example, people have already habituated to purchase products or service from various e-commerce items instead of wasting their time driving to the malls. Additionally, up-to-date gadgets have made international communication much more comfortable and affordable. For instance, international corporations, now, are capable of distant conferencing by video (without taking the road to foreign countries) and paying minimized fractions of the cost when compared to the past. Hence, the accomplishment of consumers’ demands may ameliorate the way that they live. In conclusion, even though consumerism has drawbacks, in my opinion enhancement of people’s lifestyle and their convenience are more dominant than those, because repercussions could be resolved via the power of positive ones.