Consequences of Fertility Decline

Nowadays, young couples are reluctant to have children due to the many problems of today’s world. At the top of these problems is the cost of living, and perhaps the main reason for this reluctance. Although not having children may make life easier, but it has major consequences in small and large dimensions. The two effects of this issue are population decline and population ageing, which will discuss below. The very first effect of childfree lifestyle is that it reduces or even halts the population growth, and as this trend continues, the population growth goes below zero and become negative. With population decline, the economic conditions of communities are so severely affected that many jobs and services and even facilities are destroyed or unused over time. Moreover, if we want to look at this issue in a more general way, it can threaten the future and the survival of the human race. In addition, fertility decline will lead to population ageing. As the population grows older, the conditions of a society, including economic, political, social, etc. , are affected. When a large percentage of the population is elderly, governments are forced to pay more pensions, which is a big problem for governments and their budgets. Furthermore, this condition can increase the costs of health-care, labor supply shortages, a decline in tax revenues, a possible decline in productivity and economic growth etc. To sum up, the high financial cost of having a baby is a big barrier for young couples not to have children. This problem can affect the population growth in a negative way and also will lead to the population ageing. Continuation of this situation will have devastating and worrying effects not only in the long run but also in the short term. To prevent these situations from happening, governments can encourage people by giving subsidies for renters and homebuyers, free pre-school education, education subsidies, medical subsidies and so on.