Connection between gun owenrship and crime rates

It is argued that the growing number of gun owners are the reason behind the increase of shooting cases in various countries. This essay disagrees with the statement that the ownership of guns causes the rise in gun crime. Sanctions in favour of decreasing the number of guns owned by everyday people would not stop criminal minded individuals from using them. While peaceful civilians would respect the new laws, the ones who would resort to using guns for violence would not be bothered by such measures. Since we are living in the digital age, gaining access to harmful weaponry has never been easier. Black markets are already growing at a rapid pace, and the authorities are basically helpless against them. A great example for this would be the USA, where certain alcoholic beverages were once banned by the government. Consequently, people bought the forbidden drinks from unreliable sources which caused a lot of deaths at the time. Eventually the sanctions were put out of practice. With fever guns at home innocent minded people would lack the equipment to protect themselves against dangerous individuals. In this case criminals would already now that their victims do not have the means to fight back, therefore they would be much braver. For instance, it is well known fact that in countries where the majority of population possesses weapons, crimes against civilians happen much less frequently because of the higher risks the criminals have to face. In conclusion, the source of gun violence is not the weapon, but the person firing it. Henceforth, taking it away from innocent civilians would only cause a growth in crime rates.