concern for the environment is growing and more and more people are choosing to recycle. But some people suggest that recycling is not enough. They believe we need to consume less.

In the modern era, the problem for the environment is growing progressively, and citizens are deciding to recycle. On the contrary, others suggest that merely recycling is not enough and believe we should consume less. In my opinion, it is better to recycle. On one side of the argument, some people hold the belief that recycling conserves energy. It reduces the need for items from scratch, and the process of making products from recycled materials is much easier and less energy-intensive. Moreover, it also saves water, reduces pollution and greenhouse gas emissions, improves air and water quality, preserves landfill space and conserves natural resources. Additionally, recycling helps to maintain good biodiversity. Recycling paper allows us to cut down on the number of trees required to make paper, which means more homes for wildlife. For example, for every one ton of paper made from recycled paper, it saves up to 17 trees and uses 50 percent less water. Despite the above arguments, some individuals believe that recycling allows us to get rid of our consumer habits. No matter how wasteful or pointless our spendings are, at least we can recycle it. Moreover, we need to focus on what we are buying, and it opens us up to a world of poor purchasing habits. Furthermore, recycling uses resources too, so it is not necessarily a green option. A lot of water is used to clean and process materials into new products. For example, if the materials go to industries, they use dirty energy and water to turn them into new products such as recycled toilet paper. In conclusion, though recycling is beneficial for our surroundings, citizens should reduce the use of products to protect our climate.