Computers today can quickly and accurately translate languages, therefore, it is a waste of time to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe that advancement of artificial intelligence has rendered it inefficient to learn new languages. I am in agreement with this notion and believe that it is unwise to not utilize this computing power to the fullest. Those siding with spending a lifetime to learn foreign dialects are of the view that it is impossible to completely comprehend a foreign concept unless you have a first-hand experience with their language. They argue that to grasp their ideas, one needs full understanding of their literature. There are many words in Arabic, for example, that cannot be translated to other languages and lose their meaning in doing so. Similarly, speaking foreign tongue brings mutual harmony among fellow nations and this cannot be achieved by automated translated systems. Nonetheless, in this fast-paced world, it is necessary to take advantage of the computing devices that can translate and then dictate any language to your mother language. On one hand, this saves time and money while on the other hand it is quick and error free. For instance, instead of taking linguistic classes, using your mobile phones to translate it for you is rather fast and convenient. Many applications have already been developed that are secure and accurate enough to be used in any mode of international communication. One such app is Google translate that is being used worldwide for multinational meetings. This way, instead of hiring linguistic experts much of the work is done by software and the overall cost is reduced. In conclusion, the utilitarian benefits of computer based interpretation outweigh all the values of literature. It is therefore advisable to incorporate such technologies, making them easier to use in day to day life.