Computers replacing People

When computers first made their way into the business sector, an assumption was made that they would make people’s lives easier. However, what they did not realise was that there was a catch to it, i. e. elimination from jobs. On top of that, these automated workers also exhibit inadequate job performances. Due to technology, a number of jobs have been lost. For instance, ticket agents in transportation facilities, from buses to airports, are virtually nonexistent nowadays. In addition, bank information counters have been reduced to automated bank machines. Furthermore, many of the call centres have many hotlines that are almost computerised. A few years back, I was volunteering part-time in the library. Today, these positions do not really exist, because of the computers installed. As a result, the number of positions lost to computers has increased exponentially, and unemployment has continued to get worse. Notwithstanding the fact that computers may achieve easily the main tasks of these jobs, they still fall short as the human race yearns for physical contact, especially when they are facing a unique issue or request. To illustrate further, a pre-paid ticket booth does not have insight into the entertainment world and cannot give friendly advice to individuals who need them. Likewise, a bank-automated machine is not able to give reassurance and provide assistance to those who have their cards or wallets stolen. More than often not, automated telephone operators do not have the ability to answer certain questions, and we ended up waiting in line for a real person to talk to. It is apparent that in the future, a new trend will evolve. Just as how computers eradicate jobs, new positions will have to be invented. As more and more people enter the workforce, anticipation is escalating, which is that there is a personal touch back amid the marketplace. It is my desire that mankind will demonstrate its credibility than computers.