Computers are being used more and more in education. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion. ymxr

Technology had taken over every aspect of our daily lives. With regard to obtaining education, it is believed that computers are very much utilised. Although computers have been extensively and frequently used, there are certain advantages and disadvantages that should be taken into consideration. This essay will outline the strengths and weaknesses of the use of computers in acquiring knowledge along with my personal view about the subject matter. Computers have undoubtedly made our lives easier more specifically when it comes to the acquisition of knowledge. The usage of these devices carried out a number of benefits. To begin with, these devices have made learning accessible to all. The use of computers have made studying swift and smooth; as manifested in a single click that both reveal and unlock everything that one has to know about a particular topic. Google search engine for instance could either be one’s dictionary, thesaurus or encyclopedia. It takes the place of a live teacher and surpasses the number of information that one is seeking. Apart from it being accessible, it is also an educational tool that has been made available for all. Distance and time difference will no longer serve as a barrier for learning. These far advanced machines have a wide storage that makes educational materials available, anytime and anywhere! Indeed, computers are one form of technology that could make teaching and learning less of a burden. Despite of the contributions of these computer devices to the field of education, one should not turn a blind eye to the drawbacks that it can give. When handled inappropriately, students tend to develop total dependence on these technologies. Thesis and research papers become instantaneous; thereby, lacking the development of initiative to take the extra mile in performing their school assignments and diligence in doing research by themselves. Furthermore, it somewhat affects the interpersonal skills of students and teachers. The classroom environment totally differs from the digital one. In an actual classroom setting, students are able to interact effectively and teachers are able to determine if they have the student’s undivided attention during class lectures. With computers, lecture notes are readily given out yielding to less opportunity for students to address any of their concerns promptly, and for educators to directly guide them. Although computers make learning convenient, one has to be aware of its possible drawbacks, so that one would be able to combat it and use these devices as effective educational tools. In conclusion, the wide use of computers have indeed made a great impact in our lives and much more with education. In my way of thinking, I can say that these devices must continuously be used for learning because of the efficiency and convenience that it brings. However, close attention to the quality of education must be given because convenience could yield to total dependence and less of hard work.