Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion. The use of computers as an educational tool is increasing at an unprecedented rate. Some believe that the use of computers in education is a positive trend while others disagree. Both sides of this argument will be analysed in the essay before a reasoned conclusion is drawn. (I will elaborate both views along with my personal views in the following/subsequent paragraphs. ) On the one hand, the computer is one of the best inventions of technological advancements in recent past years. Computers have given greater flexibility for a student in accessing the information over the internet and store it in a digital format and read it as and when needed. In addition, online education through computers avoids the student's commute, which eventually helps them reduce their financial burdens. For instance, during the recent Covid-19 crisis all the students were able to use their gadgets to attend classes and complete their academic year without fail. Therefore, it is understandable why many people view increasing use of computer in education as a positive trend. On the other hand, there are numerous demerits because of the laptop. To be precise, longer screen time to attend classes and reading online will bring in health issues like eyesight and obesity. Moreover, computer along with internet usage can be misused by children to watch unwanted content. As a result, there is a chance of an increase in criminal activities and unusual behaviours. For instance, a recent survey projection in the United States has shown an increase in 17% of child crimes over the last 2 years. Henceforth, there are some disadvantages / drawbacks to the increasing use of computers in education. To conclude, although there are valid arguments on both sides, I personally believe that the rising use of computers in education is a positive phenomenon. It is safe to assume that in the future computers will play an even bigger role in education.