Computers Are Becoming An Essential Part of School Lessons

With the advent of technology and computers, our lives have totally changed. Today, we see computers being used in every sphere of life be it offices, schools or colleges. Computers are an indispensable part in providing education at school level. This essay deals with both merits and demerits, further I will be explicitly discussing my view point in subsequent paragraph and will eventually put forward my own opinion. Computers have made our life easier and comfortable, these days Hi-tech classes are being introduced in classrooms to make studies more interesting and unchallenging. To cite an example, in science class, instructor use presentations or video clips to show various phenomenon that occurred in various organisms such as asexual reproduction in bacteria, myriad of organelles that can not be seen through naked eyes. Moreover, provision of audio-video aid helps students to comprehend subjects more effectively. For instance, in a survey it was reported that students who learn subjects through computers have a strong hold of basics compared to students who do not use it. The primary drawback of computers is that it can take a toll on the health of children, monitors of computers reflect rays that could directly impact the eyes of the pupils and in turn affect their vision. For example, in a survey it was reported that 28% of learners were afflicted with vision problems due to watching computer screens for a long time. Further, Games pull young children into pressing buttons of their controllers and spending hours a day at home instead of enjoying physical games outside which leads to health issues like obesity, muscle and joint pain. In conclusion, although computers might affect the eyesight of learners who use it beyond the limit, the positives it provides to pupils by helping them learn and understand different topics more easily is invaluable. Therefore, in my opinion, the advantages of using computers in education outweigh the disadvantages.