Computer games are very popular for all ages and nationalities. Parents think this has little educational value and it will be harmful for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Computer games have become increasingly popular in an age of mobile devices and advancing graphical interfaces. While some claim there is educational value in these games, I would side with those decrying the propagation of a passive lifestyle. Supporters of gaming can point to its alleged benefits for cognitive functioning. It is difficult to do good research in this area, but many recent studies have found optimistic results not only related to hand-eye coordination but also mental development. This is also supported by common sense because as games have become more advanced, players must now follow intricate stories lines, figure out difficult puzzles and outsmart progressively intelligent artificial intelligence. Depending on the age of the gamer and the game in question it is very likely there are legitimate cognitive gains that can be attributed to the extensive playing of games. Nonetheless, the marginal advances listed above pale in comparison to the effects of a passive lifestyle on both physical and mental health. Mobile devices and the internet generally, but videogames in particular, are the leading causes of the more sedentary lifestyles that most children and teens now lead, often extending into adulthood. This leaves them at risk of developing bad habits that could later translate into more serious health conditions. Added to this is the mental aspect. Playing games is, next to watching televisions shows, one of the least active forms of entertainment. It would be more beneficial for people of all ages to play a team sport, read a book, spend more time with family, or take up a productive and creative hobby. In short, computer games may offer a limited range of intellectual benefits but they also come at great physical and mental cost. It is therefore up to parents and individuals themselves to opt for more constructive pastimes.