Computer games are becoming popular nowadays. What are the advantages and disadvantages of video games?

The fame of computer games has been spread all over the globe that has raised also the number of players involved in them. The availability of being in the epicentre of actions increases the gamers’ ability to make decisions in stressful conditions, although spending too much time in virtual reality occasionally can blur the borders between genuine and fictional worlds. The crucial advantage which the computer players have over the ones who are not interested in computer activities is the speed of making decisions of critical importance and this is a good training tool for real-world situations. As the majority of computer games have a definite objective and certain rules and restrictions are involved, therefore these rules and restrictions frequently force players to solve a problem and think about alternative routes or moves. Playing video games means that players have to think on their feet taking split-second decisions that can make or break a game so it forces the brain to come up with creative solutions to problems improving logical thinking skills and developing imagination. According to the research conducted by Entertainment Software Association, gamers who spend time daily with fast-paced games can react to questions or situations up to 25% faster. The biggest negative effect of playing computer games is that in the case of some people it leads to a change in behaviour of a person, particularly raising the tendency towards displaying violent behaviour. Many video games are built on the premise of engaging in reckless or criminal behaviour, such as kicking, stabbing, fast driving or theft. Vengeance, aggression or violence is rewarded with victory points. Children who are exposed to these games from an early age show a tendency to act out similar scenarios in real life as they may feel that the same behaviour is acceptable in the real world as well. For example, in New York, on June 26, 2008, a group of teenagers, motivated by the video game Grand Theft Auto IV violently mugged a man in a grocery store and smash a van using one of the baseball bats they had brought to the crime scene. To conclude, although video games can improve the strategic thinking decision-making process, gamers should remember that they ought to win only one particular game, the game of life.