The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

Based on historical documents it is fair to assume that people always tried to invent something new that would comfort and simplify their lives. The fact is that this revolutionary breakthroughs have been running the world since its begining. Although the fact that over 12 years the usage of cars in one country reached 29 million vehicles is not surprising, the influence of such statistics on the Earth envoronment provoce some negative thoughts. To begin with, there in no problem in using private transport, as long as we exploit it in a propriate and save way, wich is, unfortunately, not always the case even in XXIst century. For instance, gaz emission spoils the breathing air, while cars themselves (especially massive ones) destroy the soil, by its weith. Consequently, I agree that the alternative forms of transport should be encouraged all over the world in sace of recusing harmpful effect of gaz emissiom and saving our planet form future disasters resulted by climate change. To solve this problem, I suppose, governments should galvanize people for more eco-friendly means of transportation such as electrocars and bycicles or improve the public tranport system to reduce the need of private transport. Secondly, the production and consumption of cars skysripered recently, what lead cars usage issue to an international level. For exampe, to buy a car from overseas lands is not a problem anymore. In my opinion different laws should be introduced to control car ownership and use. To sum up, I totally agree that private transport usage is need to be controled by government. Moreover, new ways of transportations and its regulations shoud be found, wich, I believe, will be done in the near future.