School children are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills.

Nowadays modern technology has totally changed our approach to study. In many countries students no longer have to copy notes by hand from the blackboard; instead the teacher gives them a photocopy. Rather than messy ink and pen, students present a typed-up copy of their assignments. Their computer even checks their spelling as they go. In fact, some people believe that modern technology does a lot of our thinking for us and, as a result, we are going to lose our ability to think for ourselves. In my opinion, spelling skills have definitely deteriorated in recent years. So many young people use mobile phones to send text messages where speed and conciseness are more important than spelling or grammar. Some teachers complain that these students take the same attitude toward their assignments. On the other hand, typed assignments are much easier to read and are much neater. Frankly, I find some notes or texts which are handwritten almost impossible to read. Doctors, for example, have a reputation for illegible handwriting, which could lead to disastrous medical mistakes. Perhaps it is time we focused not on handwriting but on presenting information as accurately as possible. One advantage of computers is that access to the Internet has opened up a new world of learning for us. We no longer have to wait for a book that has already been borrowed from the library before we do our research. In fact, the Internet can clearly be used to research information in the same way as a library but more conveniently. On the whole, rather than holding students back, I believe modern technology has actually improved standards of education considerably.