Some people consider computers to be more of a hindrance than a help. Others believe that they have greatly increased human potential. How could computers be considered a hindrance?

It is easy to understand why some people think computers are more of a hindrance than a help. Things like getting my money back from bank or changing a ticket are easy without using computer, yet once one is involved, the process can become time-consuming, complex and prone to errors. In all the offices I've seen, it can sometimes seem that for every hour saved by computers, at least set of problems caused by the computers breaking down. This wastes a lot of time. Also, over-enthusiastic use of computers in the home has the potential to divert large amounts of free time away from things like socialising, tasking exercise or having dinner with your family. Spending a lot of leisure time looking at a computer monitor screen hinders achieving other goals in life, like being healthy and socially integrated. However, it would be simplistic to say that computers are bad. They have caused enormous improvements in communications, medicine, design, education and lots of other things. These days, virtually everything we know is as far away as the nearest internet point. Computers have brought about a profound change in the way most people in rich countries live. (Although it should not be forgotten that the majority of the inhabitants of this planet have never even used a computer once. ) There are definitely more good things than bad things about computers. The question is not do computers help or hinder, but do we always use them in a sensible and responsible way?