Competitiveness is considered to be an important quality for people in many societies. How do you think it affects individuals? Is it a positive or negative trend? ( 重复2011/3/12老题)

Being competitive is an arguably desirable quality. It could go either way on both the individual level and the level of society. The society of meeting has negative on civilization. On the one hand, championship improves people's performance and productivity. With the game, people will work harder and study faster, higher and stronger. If there is no competition, people will muddle along and make slow progress. On the other hand, competition sometimes brings extra pressure. These pressures come from people's colleagues and superiors. If they can't win the competition, they will be eliminated. For example, the company places too much emphasis on competition, resulting in every employee working overtime every day. In this way, both the employee and the boss will be in a state of high pressure, which may lead to some psychological problems. Generally speaking, this is a positive trend. First of all, society will benefit from the promotion of competition. Individuals in the whole society will become competitive, efficient, and ambitious, and their productivity will increase. In addition, this phenomenon is also in line with the principle of "natural selection" in evolutionary biology. No matter in the human society or the animal and plant world, organisms must strive for survival. Although human beings are now quite free from being hunted by other animals or dying of famine, the principle of "natural selection" should still be retained, always reminding us to become stronger, so this is a positive phenomenon. In my opinion, competition is needed for human progress, without which we would probably still be living in the primitive world, as every important invention and discovery may have resulted from the competition of one kind or another. On the other hand, people ought to be made to understand that besides competition, cooperation is also needed to keep the world going.