Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be spent elsewhere.

It is often argued that the government’s budget should be directed towards other areas of concern rather than being spent on art. Although it is necessary to spend money on growing issues like hunger and poverty, I completely disagree that the government should not spend money on art. First of all, art is a great source of history and also an income in terms of tourism. A country’s history, like the life at different time periods, can be understood in detail through art. A country’s past depicted in an art piece could act as a lesson and a scope for improvement in a particular field. If the government invests in building art museums, it could generate revenue to the country as many tourists enjoy visiting them to learn about the country’s culture. For instance, the paintings on the walls of the Sistine Chapel is not only rich in history but is also helping to improve the country’s economy via tourism. Secondly, I believe that art is a channel of expression. The government should invest in developing more art institutes where budding artists can seek professional education. In other words, this could help the artists better express their stories through their paintings. Art helps us to understand the artist’s perspectives regarding a particular topic. For instance, Van Gogh’s famous painting “The starry night” helps us understand his way of visualizing the night sky and also throws some light on his style of art. In conclusion, I believe that the government should spend more money on art because it not only helps in understanding the country’s history and the artist’s view but also helps in enhancing tourism.