Competition for places at university is increasing. Why do more and more people want to study at university? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that there are more and more competitions for places at university. There are several causes that have resulted in such phenomenon, and I believe that this is a negative development. The most important reason why more people want to study at university I think is they need the degree for job application. Without a question, college degree is necessary when applying most jobs. Getting a degree is more important than studying what people have interests in nowadays. Degrees help people to find a better job including higher salary so I think that this is the main reason why more people want to study at university. Another reason I believe that is there are more resources for someone to use or learn in college. The professional skills in most subjects would not be teach if you do not study at university. If someone wants to improve his ability or learn more professional skills and concepts, entering a college is the most efficient way. From my perspective, this is a negative development. First of all, it caused people study in a subject which can get them a better job rather than major in what they really have interest in or do what they really want. In other words, people nowadays are being encouraged for getting a degree rather than chasing their dreams. Another reason I think this phenomenon is a negative development is that based on the increased demand of entering university, schools make their tuition higher than before. It seems like people pay for their future. Even though the degree from college indeed helps them to find a job with higher salary, people also need to pay back the huge tuition loan.