Compare commercial agency in Viet Nam with te UK

The growth of economics rises the need for commercial intermediary forms. Commercial agency is the most popular type of intermediary activities in commerce. In Viet Nam, that type creates numerous benefits and is regulated by law. Vietnamese Commercial law 2005 defines a commercial agency means a commercial activity whereby the principal and the agent agree that the agent, in its own name, sells or purchases goods for the principal or provides services of the principal to customers for remuneration. Simply, the principals will sell their products or services to customers through the agents. There are three main forms of agency: off-taken agency, exclusive agency, general goods sale or purchase, or service provision agency. The commercial agency is one of the most popular ways of promoting trades and economics. That form brings benefits for four main subjects: principals, agents, customers and economics. Principals are traders delivering goods, authorizing the provision of services, or providing money for agents to sell. They are manufacturers or services providers so that they have more experience in creating, producing…and they need to concentrate on their main specialism. Especially smaller principals, they may not balance their roles as a seller and a manufacturer. However, agents will be good and believable partners, they will handle problems called sales. Agents are professional distributors with a great knowledge of selling, market, law and local custom so that selling goods and services is much easier for them. Principals reduce worries about the sale, marketing fees, … and they are able to focus on their experts completely. Agents are traders that receive remuneration from selling. They could save production expenses while could invest to diversify products. Like the principals, they could pay attention to their job as sellers. Furthermore, customers who indirectly consume goods of producers enjoy benefits from that intermediary form of commerce. Not only they are carefully advised by agents staff, but they also have the chance to choose a variety of products with reduced fees. It needn’t for them to search and find manufacturers and their goods, what they have to do is focusing on finding out believable agents. Last but not least, all benefits, created and given to principals, agents and customers will result to promote and encourage consumption. Therefore, the domestic and international economy will grow. In Viet Nam, there is some procedure to form a commercial agent. Firstly, businessmen have to register business establishments. In fact, a commercial agency is a form of business activities so the traders have to complete business registration. The traders must choose whether their agent is a household business or a private enterprise and what kind of business they are. Then the application form will be given at the Business Registration Office of Province. The factors of application are regulated in law on enterprises. There will be some differences in procedure between household business and private enterprise. The next steps for private enterprise are announcing business registration content, engraving and announcing the business seal sample, registration for a corporate tax code. The household businesses also have to pay their taxes. After all previous procedure is completed, the traders continue to register to establish agents. There are many differences between Vietnamese and UK agency law. For the first point of definition, Viet Nam defines a commercial agency as a commercial activity while UK Regulations 1993 considers it as a legal person. As a result, the other parts of regulations about agency are affected by definition. Next, the rights and obligations are regulated more detailedly in Viet Nam. There are separate terms for principals' and agents' duties and interests. On the other hand, UK regulated commonly the duties of each party and the regulations intend to protect other parties rather than insisting on what they are liable to do. The third point is about remuneration. While Commercial law 2005 focus on whether there are agreements or not and whether the principals decide the prices of goods and services, it is expended in the UK in other circumstances such as entitlement to commission on transactions concluded during agency contract and entitlement to commission on transactions concluded after agency contract has terminated. The UK put more effort into balancing and clarifying the remunerations between parties. Last but not least, the regulations about contract and termination of the agency in the UK is more detailed than in Viet Nam. The UK recognizes legally written contracts however, they don’t inhibit unwritten types. They legislated about conversion of agency contract after expiry of fixed period, minimum periods of notice for termination of agency contract and other cases. Viet Nam focus on termination and compensation, however that article is limited and common. To conclude, it is clear that commercial agency is a popular intermediary activity. It plays an important role in the growth of economics. However, the regulations about agency are not detailed and efficient enough. Especially, the change into digital economics and the latest signed EVFTA raise the need for new and suitable regulations in Viet Nam. The detailed and appropriate regulations of the commercial agency will create conditions and a safe environment for economic growth.