Companies spend millions each year on advertising online, in magazines and billboards. These adverts can encourage people to buy products that they do not really need? What are the positive and negative effects of consumerism?

Nowadays, many companies employ a number of methods of advertising their products which has led to widespread consumerism and these wide scale and effective advertising methods can sometimes lead people to buy unnecessary stuff. Many people believe that consumerism is good, but there are others who think otherwise. In this essay, I'll discuss the positives and negatives of consumerism. Firstly, many international companies not only target rich countries, but they also target underdeveloped countries for their sales. Many developing countries have very volatile and weak economic structures and when widespread consumerism becomes common owing to effective advertising campaigns by international firms, their fragile economies often find it hard to cope with the financial efflux and the disparity between the imports and exports. Secondly, Consumerism is often responsible for a growing rift between different economic classes of the society and it is often portrayed to be something that only privileged people do. This often creates dissent among the poor and can sometimes result in the crimes and theft. Consumerism can aid many companies to allocate more funds for research and development and this in turn can help the companies to have more competitive and refined products in the global market which in turn boosts their country exports. It also creates employment opportunities for people because companies can now employ more people against the increasing demands for their products. Consumerism can also result in the flow of cash from rich to poor people because many high end and expensive products target, financially stable and strong people and the profits from these sales can be equally disimbursed among the company and workers. In conclusion, Consumerism is on the rise because of the effective and modern advertising techniques and this had negative effects on the economies of some countries, but overall, consumerism has also led to the development of the industrial sector, which in turn employs many people so therefore, controlled consumerism is not necessarily a bad thing and as it can have many advantages globally and nationally.