Companies should avoid recruiting young women who have not started a family yet as they may be required to pay for their maternity leave later on.

Currently, young single women are believed to be avoided in hiring on a job as the company may be obliged to pay them maternity leave payments in the future. While this does cause inconveniences to the business, I am convinced that this is a chauvinistic tendency and should not be supported. On the one hand, when hiring an unmarried woman a company may face a search for a new employee, as well as additional expenses in the future. I think that this situation is not profitable, in the sense that a company will need to finance a search of a new worker and provide them with a reasonable salary. Albeit a new employee will substitute woman on a maternity leave, he still will be in need to be informed and trained how to work in this company and how to deal with colleagues. Moreover, company’s financial department will deal with rearrangement of finances and all additional expenses connected with a new worker. Therefore, all these procedures do become a highly time-consuming and expensive experience for a company. On the other hand, marking out mentioned above women from other job-seekers may be considered as a breaking of human rights. Apart from young women, who may take a maternity leave, also, in modern society, a young man could ask for a paternity pay and will stay at home helping his wife with a newborn. That makes chances of facing financial inconveniences for a business equally the same as for hiring a young man or a young woman. Furthermore, for example, a young woman could be a childfree person in sense that she is never going to have children at all, thus, it makes no sense of such kind of a gender discrimination. For that reason, marking off women in such a way may cause issues for a business for this kind of a chauvinistic policy. To conclude, company’s policy against hiring young women these days may be considered as a gender inequality. While a business may face additional and unplanned expenses with searching and recruiting a replacement for a woman on maternity leave, I believe, that this is non-acceptable in modern society, where a woman may be childfree person or a young man may ask for paternity leave.