Communication through text messaging and other instant forms of online communication are short and basic. Some people think this will be the death of grammar and spelling.

There is an opinion that using electronic appliances to communicate have negative impact of people’s grammar and spelling skills and even can lead to extinction of grammar and spelling. This is argued by the fact that some people use a short and basic form of traditional words in online communication. I would attempt to prove that this point of view is hardly justified. Firstly, from an educational point of view, modern devices help people with grammar and spelling because each of them has additional option called ‘autocorrect’. This option correct mistakes which people made in a text. Moreover, this way of communication can be used by children, elderly and sick people, who are not able to communicate their needs in different way. Furthermore, that kind of communication often is made in a rush and a well-defined purpose, that is why, there is often no possibility to use rich vocabulary. On the other hand, the today’s generation is focus on a fast and easy way to provide expected information. People often do not pay attention on spelling and grammar because they are aware that devices, which they use, correct them. To sum up, there is no doubt that the technology development has changed the way how people use a language to communicate, but using grammar and spelling are essential for proper and comprehensive communication. Therefore, these skills cannot