Communication culture in business

III. Communication culture in business a) Japanese communication style In traditional Japanese communication, there are rules and rituals that everyone must follow depending on the social status and social relationships of each person involved in the communication. The greeting etiquette is the first expression that Japanese people notice. Any words and gestures of the Japanese, including urging or refusing, are also imprinted with courtesy and courtesy. Because the Japanese have a high sense of self-esteem, they especially avoid being rude when communicating. Dr. Ernest Gundling(1999) “Communicating with Japanese in Business”. b) Characteristics of Japanese business communication culture o Respect for etiquette and importance of hierarchy: Japanese society has always had a very high sense of etiquette, and besides that, they are very hierarchical in all relationships. o Avoid conflict by compromise: The Japanese do not like conflict when negotiating, they avoid conflict by compromising. o Get to know the partner well before negotiating: The Japanese always have the habit of finding out enough information about the other party before entering the negotiation. o Respect the group's decision when working together o How to reduce speech and avoid o Exchange information, negotiate for a long time and carefully, work very mechanically o Keep your word, promise and always be on time o Important about form o Taking advantage of the opponent's weakness o They often use Japanese more than English when communicating o The culture of sending greeting cards on holidays and giving gifts