Climate is the hardest part of culture shock when moving to a new country

Climate can be defined as the weather patterns in a country, and these patterns range from cold to moderate and tropical. It is believed by some that climate is the worst factor of culture shock. Others, however, say that other aspects of culture shock such as food and language barriers create more problems for people who travel abroad. This essay will disagree with the question and will show how other aspects of culture shock are more important than climate. Firstly it can be said that language barriers constitute a bigger problems than climate. For example, people moving to new countries may find the written script or different accents of a language very difficult. From this example it can be argued that if people don’t understand the writing of a new language they could find it hard to travel around their host country. This is because the road signs and maps would most likely not be in the same language as the one the immigrant speaks. As a result, people may get frustrated and lost going between work and home, or even just visiting places of interest. This could result in someone not enjoying a new country, and not being able develop a personal connection with the place. In addition, it may be difficult to ask for directions or even make friends because language barriers also include different accents and dialects. For instance, every town in England talks with a different accent. This also adds to an immigrant feeling lonely and annoyed. Arguably, language barriers are worse than climate for culture shock because they cause stronger feelings of homesickness, and an inability to get around and enjoy a new country. Also, it could be said that food is also something worse than climate to get used to. A prime example is the difference in how spicy or plain food can be in different countries. England has many dish but few of them ever contain any spice whatsoever. If a Cambodian therefore visited the UK, they could find the food boring and difficult to enjoy the same as the food from their home country. This is something worse than climate since it is easy to make yourself feel hotter or colder by putting on more or less clothes, or having air con or a heater. On the other hand, it is more difficult to find food you like, as this would involve cooking something or spending a lot of money buying the home country’s food. As a result, people spend more time and money adapting to new food in a country, more than adapting to the new climate. One example of this is that it would be easy to buy a jumper when it is cold in England but difficult to find somewhere that sells Khmer food such as Amok or Lok Lak. Consequently, the increased time and money spent trying to find nice food in a new country means that people could feel very stressed. This would therefore make them miss their own country more than the climate. In conclusion, it has been shown that language barriers and food create more stress for people moving to new country than climate does. This is because they bring stronger feelings of culture and homesickness. People would have to do more to prepare for potential language barriers and deal with new tastes of food. It can therefore be advised that people learn a new language before going to a new country, and also know what kind of food to expect.