Climate change and agriculture in Thal region

Background: Climate change dramatically changes the agricultural dynamics in rain fed areas of Pakistan. Area under culturable waste lands increases with passage of time due to increase in depth of underground water, inefficient use of irrigation water, low frequency of precipitation and energy shortfalls in national grids. Ongoing agricultural problems in rain-fed areas of Pakistan are big concern of food security. This situation may lead towards the decrease in agricultural output and other issues like poverty and shift from agriculture to other occupations. Considering the ground level circumstances and climate related problems in rain fed areas of Pakistan. Hi-Path project aimed to equip the local farmers with energy and water efficient technologies. Adoption of energy and water efficient technologies was a big concern. Major steps were needed for the adoption and usage of these technologies at ground level. To facilitate the adoption process according to needs of local farmers Hi-Path has been initiated. Project promoted the production of technology at micro level to meet demands of local people, groups, and organizations. Hi-Path also accelerate the behavioural changes regrading the adoption of technology among famers, manufacturers of agricultural equipment and public organizations by conducting orientation sessions. These sessions provide opportunity for local stakeholder to observer energy and water efficient technologies physically and virtually by means of social media. Moreover, development of pilot sites and conducting trainings for the awareness of local farmers regarding the usage of advance technologies plays important role in adoption.