Choose one activity outside of class (e. g. extracurricular, community-based, home, volunteer, or work) that you have spent a significant amount of time participating in over the past year or more. Tell us about what it is and the impact it has had on you and those around you.

On my last birthday, my parents advised me to go to the neighborhood Old Age Home. From the window of school-bus, I used to see a lot of old aged persons sitting inside this building but never got an opportunity to meet them. I went and met the manager of the old age home and donated money and eatables. Looking at my curiosity, the manager took me around the building and explained that this is “Ashram” and it is for old age people. Their aim is to lessen the hardships of old age persons by rehabilitating them. He told that Ashram runs on government funding and donations received from the general public. He categorically told that funds and donations are too low but some-how they are managing the show. I saw that the residents are mostly old persons who in their life have performed all their responsibilities and have retired. Not only do residents need monetarily support but also some volunteers who should spend some quality time with them. I noticed that children of these residents are too busy with their schedules and are not taking proper care of them. I was satisfied after meeting some of the elderly residents and during this time my mind had somewhere decided that I will be visiting Ashram again and again. The visit, in fact, changed my outlook towards old aged persons and cemented my belief in “giving back to society”. From this visit, I found that Ashram is in the need of a few volunteers who can donate funds and spend some quality time with these elderly persons. After that, every weekend I volunteered to take one of my friends or relatives to the Ashram. During these visits, I always explained to persons that their small donations and time will make residents of Ashram happy and in return, they themselves will also feel satisfied and happy that they are paying back to their society. In one year, I engaged more than twenty like-minded volunteers who are now regularly visiting Ashram. I feel happy that with my small effort I have engaged a lot of volunteers who are working for the benefit of Ashram. When I go to Ashram, I always salute the founders of this Ashram for their efforts in making this Ashram and someday in my life I dream of building one such Ashram for the society.