China is one of the 12 serious water shortage countries in the world, and the per capita water resources share is only 1/4 of per capita in the world.

Treated wastewater refers to non-drinking water that can be reused within a certain range after urban sewage or domestic sewage has reached a certain water quality standard after treatment (Christou et al. 2014). Treating wastewater before it is reused for irrigation can reduce the health risks associated with this practice (Elfanssi et al. 2018). In addition, the treated wastewater can be regarded as an alternative resource that can be used for different purposes such as the aspect of water resources, environmental management policies, ensuring reliable alternative water resources, reducing environmental pollution, and achieving a more sustainable form of development (Andrews et al. 2016; Hamadeh et al. 2014; Lazarova et al. 2001; Tao et al. 2017; Yihdego 2017). Especially, the utilization of treated wastewater for agricultural production is a common practice globally (Paranychianakis et al. 2015; Peña et al. 2020; Singh 2021; Tran et al. 2016; Wang et al. 2019; World Health 2015). Irrigation with treated wastewater can increase farm income and reduce environmental pollution by reducing the discharge of wastewater into the natural environment (Chowdhury and Al-Zahrani 2014; Dresser and McKee 2004; Gregory 2000), conserving water and nutrients, due to this reduces the need for chemical fertilizers and treats municipal and industrial wastewater in a low-cost sanity manner (Elgallal et al. 2016; M and M 2020). Besides, using alternative water resources, such as treated municipal wastewater (TWW) to supplement agricultural irrigation, can reduce the pressure on freshwater (FW) supply, also helps to reduce the degradation of aquatic ecosystems and help maintain agricultural productivity in the area (Becerra-Castro et al. 2015; Dery et al. 2019; Ganjegunte et al. 2018; Suri et al. 2019; Toze 2006; Zhang and Shen 2019). Moreover, the use of wastewater can improve the soil physical and chemical properties, soil nitration status (M. Kiziloglu et al. 2007), and crop growth, yield as well as quality (Nagajyothi et al. 2009; Nath et al. 2009).