Children's mode of transportation to school

Modes of transportation has changed a lot in the span of two decades from 1990 to 2010. According to a survey on children aged 5-12 years old, there is a drop in the usage of public transport by nearly by 28 percent. The number of children walking to the school for the entire journey has now dropped by more than half of what it used to be two decades ago. If we compare the combined usage of walking and bus usage as a means to travel to the school, the trips have decreased just by about half. The trips which included children who used to cycle their way to the school, has dropped by nearly a third. All this statistics can be simplified if we consider the number of trips made by the cars, which have a significant increase of about 140 percent. Urbanisation and increase in average national wages has brought about a big change in the trends of transportation. People struggled to make much money 20 years back, and thus, opted to walk, cycle or used public transportation. But, more people are now making enough money to afford a faster and safer mode of transportation for their children, and hence, either drive their children to their school or hire a personal driver to drop the kids at school.