Children who grow up in families which are short of money are better prepared with the problems of adult life than children who are brought up by wealthy parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views on whether children from wealthy (families) or low – income families would cope better with life challenges. While I understand that a materially abundant life may offer some advantages, I would argue that being brought up in poverty-stricken families is usually more beneficial. Very wellwritten! On the one hand, there are a variety of reasons why some people advocate nurturing children in comfortable environments. One of the essential elements is that children in wealthy families are undoubtedly provided with better living conditions and learning materials. With the widely available (re)sources of information, these children are likely to achieve better academic achievements than their poorer peers. In addition, children who have prosperous parents often obtain good-quality childminding and after-school childcare; hence, they are allowed to focus completely on their studies and enjoy other extra-curriculum activities. On the other hand, I believe that being brought up in families which are lack of financial resources would better prepare children for their future. Firstly, junior members in impoverished families are usually educated about the value of money in their formative years, as well as learning how to support their parents in earning money. Therefore, they could engage in diverse activities and be equipped with various life/soft skills that may be extremely useful in their adult lives, such as communication (skills) or problem-solving skills. Secondly, if children are given the chance to interact with the reality from their early stages in life, they could develop strong personalities to overcome adversity in their adulthood, and thus/thereby coping better with the competitive world. For example, a child that grew up in a working-class family and since my childhood I have been cultivating/ cultivated valuable virtues of life like responsibility, endurance, and diligence, which helps me a great deal in leading my adult life. In conclusion, while it is true that children growing up in wealthy families benefit in some ways, this is by no means that they can be better prepared for life’s challenges than children whose childhood suffers from poverty.