Many people believe that increasing levels of violence on television and in films is having a direct result on levels of violence in society. Others claim that violence in society is the result of more fundamental social problems such as unemployment. How much do you think society is affected by violence in the media?

There are different views on the causes of violence in the world today. Some argue that it is connected to people's exposure to violent scenes on television and in films, whilst others point to wider problems in society such as unemployment, poor housing and education as the root of anti-social behaviour. It is my belief that violence in the media plays a significant role in encouraging violent behaviour. A first point is that as levels of violence in the media increase, so does young people's exposure to it. Even films aimed at children often contain violence and despite the difficulty of proving whether this directly affects society, it is hard not to be concerned. After all, children learn through modelling adult behaviour, so if the models they choose are violent then it is highly likely that they may be violent themselves. Furthermore, the way violence is portrayed in the media is often stylized resulting in violence being seen as attractive. People who are easily impressed may then behave violently themselves. Although research has shown that aggressive behaviour is actually often the result of having aggressive parents, I still believe that the unrealistic way violence is shown in the media must have a negative result on society. Finally, the media has become increasingly globalized which means that violence in programmes or films can be viewed all over the world. I would argue that the increasing quantity and level of violence seen around the world must be a negative force in society. In conclusion, although it is difficult to prove beyond a doubt the effect of violence in the media on society, I believe that the result on the young, the unrealistic way it is shown and the global nature of media communications all have a significant and negative impact on society.