Children spend too much leisure time watching T. V. and playing video games. with this opinion.

The amount of time young people spend glued to the television or playing video games has increased significantly over the past fifty years. While there may be few very limited benefits to these activities, I would argue that children today spend far too much time in front of electronic screens. It could be said that there are, in fact, grounds to let children spend time in front of a screen. Firstly, the role of educational computer games and television programmes may be useful to children. There are video games which boost cognitive function as well as educational T. V. shows about nature, science and business which can aid learning. Spending time in front of an electronic device may also allow children to relax and take their minds off school pressures such as exams and coursework. It is my view, however, that leisure time inside and away from books is time wasted. Children could benefit from playing outside with friends, thus keeping them fit and healthy and improving social interaction. There is an ongoing debate that children nowadays are becoming socially reclusive and overweight, so encouraging them with active games with friends could solve this. Time away from screens and invested in studying may also allow the children to flourish academically, increasing their chance of a better career in the future. It cannot be denied that there is a strong correlation between working hard and success. Clearly, children should be allowed to have time to relax and enjoy their youth by doing something they enjoy. I do feel, however, that T. V. and video games should be limited and that children should be encouraged to spend time socialising and being active.