Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today.

Today children prefer to watch excessive amount of television. There is a fear that these unproductive hours may result in underperformance in education as television usually cannot serve as a learning device. I completely agree with this view that increased tv screen time has created some possible barriers to achieve educational success. Putting the staggering amount of time on watching television is the main culprit behind the loss of quality in basic education among children. Obviously, when children are faced with option of choosing television or books, they are more likely to choose the former at the heartbeat. This is because, unlike books which contain precious source of information, children are often attracted to television programs as they offer more intriguing contents thereby creating addictiviness. As a result, children are being encountered to some learning disabilities, such as concentration disorders, which means that our progress in terms of technological advances has backfired us by making young generation prone to fail the academic studies. However, some supporters of television claim that in this day and age spending time in front of television can beneficial in a way that it offers more practical and visiual content which in case of books might be impossible to experience. They point out that even though books are constrained with pictures, they might fail to convey message entirely, and I think that in a way it makes sense. Nevertheless, I cannot support these people's view since I believe that time-consuming television would only provide children with an opportunity to learn non-verbal communication skills rather than abilities to read or write precisely, which are the precursor of gaining most of high qualifications. Thus, I am also of the opinion that television turned some children to closed-minded people in achieving education goals. In conclusion, television industry cannot compete with books as a learning tool, therefore, I strongly agree that this is the main footprint that left our children in dark to strive to enhance their academic performance.