Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today.

With the development of technology, televisions’ place in our lives has exponentially been increasing. Everybody can reach the opportunity of watching television and television resources, such as educational programs from infancy to puberty. Many people wonder whether TV can compensate for the book as a learning tool. I believe that books are an indispensable part of the learning process, and TV cannot replace it in many ways. Based on children’s developmental skills and focusing ability, this essay sides with the books as an overwhelmingly beneficial learning tool for young adults. First, television brings about damages to children’s developing skills. Nowadays, adolescents waste their valuable time watching TV programs, yet this monumental time sometimes turns into becoming addicted to TV. Children can enhance their vocabulary, understanding ability and broaden their perspective by improving their intellectual level by reading various books in their developmental stage. Moreover, doing outdoor activities have a significant impact on young people. Books are convenient in terms of mobility, and children can carry the book that they read with them and read outdoors. Watching TV necessitate to be the same place, and when children watch TV and have a sedentary lifestyle, it may cause detrimental health issues. Furthermore, focusing on a book about a specific subject accelerates children learning process and improves their ability to comprehend what is discussed in the book. For instance, when children tap into the remote control button, the first thing they see and attract their attention would be amusing programs rather than educational ones. Therefore, they would have a hard time keeping their concentration on educational programs. Even if they can keep their focus on them, advertisements would disrupt their learning process, and they would lose their attention again because of interruption. All in all, I strongly think that books educate children more properly regarding their developing skills, and ability to focus and comprehend the subject. Thanks to books, children can avoid cognitive, physical, and intellectual damages and lose their attention caused by the TV when they want to learn.