Children find it difficult to concentrate on or pay attention to their study in school

It is true that young children and students today are likely to lose their concentration and attention when studying at schools. There are some underlying causes for this phenomenon, while several feasible solutions could be implemented to limit it effectively. Two primary root causes leading to the loss of students’ concentration while studying at schools are anticipated. Firstly, lessons taught by teachers and lecturers in school time nowadays are considered lack of stimulating and intriguing, difficult to retain students’ attention. In other words, the traditional teaching method popularly applied in most schools is impractical, which is unable to meet the students’ needs in the modern life; this is true for some specialized subjects like science and technology which require special equipment and certain studying environment in order to give more efficient and lively lessons to students. Moreover, today students tend to be put a high pressure on their studying at school where they have to study around ten different subjects listed on their studying timetable of a week. For example, over 95% of Vietnamese students ranging from primary to high schools spend most of their time studying 11 subjects including what they are not interested in; and understandably, it is extremely exhausting for them to keep their mind concentrated all the time. There are two practical actions could be taken by the government and educational authorities to remedy the situation. The first one is that teachers and lecturers should make a consideration in using some technological devices when conveying lessons to students. As a result, the lessons added images, sound and videos are either understanding or encouraging for students who gradually pay more attention. Furthermore, the government also should adjust the national curriculum which becomes more reasonable for students. Consequently, students have a sense of comfort and passion when studying at school; in addition, they certainly have both better academic performances and effective studying manners. In conclusion, two major causes regarding the teaching method and overloading school time are identified, the rearrangement of school subjects and advanced teaching method from the government and authorities should be applied to encourage students to be more concentrating at school.