Children can learn many things from watching films or movies. What are some of the different things they can learn? Are these lessons always good for them?

With the advent of groundbreaking technology in movie making alongwith creative human minds has enabled us to make more and more movies in the last couple of decades. Besides entertainment, films have often been a media that influences its viewers, mainly children and they can learn a plethora of things from it, that may or not have positive impact on their lives. This essay will discuss the things they may gain from these films and if it amounts to anything useful in their lives. Children can learn numerous things from watching movies. Firstly, historical movies can provide insight into lives of people that lived centuries ago. They can learn about the ancient civilization. For example, I remember an Indian movie named ‘Mohenjodaro’ that I watched in my teenage, which gave me some knowledge about the people’s houses, trades and clothing that existed at that time. Secondly, films that are animation based can boost kids creativity. Further more, films with social message creates awareness amongst children and makes them compassionate and sensitive to any possible social issue. Thus, a variety of things can be learned from watching movies and films. However, I argue that not all the things learned from the movies are positive, infact children may acquire some things that can have detrimental effect on their lives. To begin with, mainstream movies often consist of scenes that are replete with violence and verbal abuse. Children are highly likely to pick the swear words and use them in real life. Not just this, lately, social issues like women harassment and gender inequality are incorrectly portrayed in movies, that causes wrong impression to be created on the minds of children about such problems and children can possibly develop a prejudice. This prejudice could lead to discrimation and racism against opposite gender in their future lives. To conclude, even though films or movies are the media of entertainment, the things learned from watching it may not always be beneficial for children. Therefore, parents or caregivers should use their own discretion as far as childrens watching movies is concerned.