Children are now watching more television than they have ever done before. What are the possible risks and the benefits of this?

Televisions are the most popularly used devices by children for entertainment. Earlier, books, newspapers, or outdoor activities were popular among children, but toddlers today, have been spending majority of their time watching television as compared to the past. This essay outlines the negative and positive effects of this change. Televisions are extremely attractive and addictive and hence pose risks to children. To illustrate further, televisions attract many children from all age groups as the content caters to every age group. Consequently, they get glued to watching shows and cartoons that do not assist in the holistic development of the mind and just provide information that is useless. Secondly, constant staring at screens has negative affects on the eyesight. As a result, many children aged 8-12 wear spectacles which is usually worn by the aged. On the other hand, televisions pose various benefits if the information consumed is moderated. Televisions can be used for educational purposes by inducing audio visual content in the pedagogy of learning. Scientists have proven that children relate more to audio visual content rather than textual content. Additionally, children are extremely aware of current technologies and televisions aid the use of internet as well. All information is available online and televisions act as a catalyst to gather and provide this information. Therefore, children posses a lot of knowledge on technology and how it functions. In conclusion, every change in the world has its advantages and disadvantages. However, televisions are considered detrimental to the development of children when overused and exploited. Whereas, when used in moderation, televisions can actually promote the education of the child.