Childhood obesity is increasing. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to reduce childhood obesity?

There is an increasing number of obese children around the world. This is mainly because of lack of physical activities and frequently eating fast food items. Including physical education in school curriculum is the most viable solution to mitigate obesity among children. The foremost reason of obesity is due to the inactive lifestyle of children. In recent years, most of children spend in front of computers or mobile phones, therefore, involve in less outdoor activities. Hence, children become lethargic and overweight of not having adequate physical exercises. For instance, earlier children used to involve in doing outdoor activities, however, these days children are stuck at childcare centers. In addition, access to fast food is also another reason which contributes to overweight. For example, there is a large number of addictive fast food restaurants having junk food: burgers, oily and fried food items. This could directly lead to have instant meals with unhealthy ingredients. A possible solution for aforementioned health issue is that initiating regular physical education in school curriculum. Starting from educational institutes could be a long-term approach. If children have to engage in outdoor activities more often, this will ultimately result to gain active lifestyle for all school kids. Moreover, physical well-being helps to improve cognitive abilities of children. For example, government can make physical exercises mandatory for all the educational institutes from kindergarten level to high school and as well as for childcare centers. In conclusion, inactive lifestyle of children and frequently addicted to junk food are the most common reasons to increase overweight among children. Introducing sport events or regular exercises would be the most suitable solution for this health issue.