Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries. Explain the main causes.

It is true that childhood obesity is becoming a serious health issue in many countries all over the world. There could be several reasons why this is the case, and I believe that not only the government but also parents and schools should take responsibility for finding the solutions for this problem. There are various reasons why many children are becoming obese and overweight. The main issue is that children have unhealthy eating habits and consume too many fast foods like hamburgers, chips, McDonald’s, or soft drinks. These foods contain a low nutritional value such as vitamins, fiber and are high in fat and sugars that cause overweight in childhood. In other words, kids nowadays tend to have a sedentary lifestyle. They spend most of their leisure time playing computer games, chatting on the internet instead of playing outside or doing sports. Due to lack of exercise, too many calories in and too few calories burned cause energy imbalance. As a consequence of these factors, children these days are becoming overweight. They are unhealthy and easily get a higher risk of heart diseases, diabetes, and cancer. These diseases put a strain on hospitals and they are going to be a heavy burden in the future. In my view, there are several actions that parents, schools, and government could take to solve the problems described above. Firstly, parents should control what kids eat and ensure that they have a healthy diet. For instance, giving children more fruits and vegetables and low fat in meals, drinking water instead of sugary drinks. Secondly, governments can limit unhealthy junk food advertisements that are directed at children. Finally, Children should restrict the time they spend on the computer and video games and encourage them to do regular exercise. For example, an adequate amount of physical education sessions needs to be held weekly by schools for their young students to keep fit and stay healthy. In conclusion, obesity among children is growing at an alarming rate but I strongly believe that various measures can be taken to tackle these problems.