The Affect of the Internet on Daily Communication

With an increasing population communicating via the internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree? Internet plays an essential role in todays society. Most of the everyday stuff we do relies on the internet, and one of the crucial roles it has is that it’s a great tool for communication. 50 years ago, it was impossible for people to meet a stranger from the other side of the world without the necessity of leaving their home. But now, by using the internet, we are able to make online friends from countries around the world and communicate with them virtually, just sitting on the couch in our homes. It also made long-distance relationships more common among the young generation. Even though, in my opinion, this kind of communication can never replace a face to face one. Speaking of communication via the internet, it’s not only limited to communicating with strangers in foreign countries, but it is also used to keep in touch with friends and family members. If you miss your grandmother for instance, you can see her in a video call with two clicks on your cell phone. The question is, would you bother to get dressed, drive 20minutes to her house, and see her in person instead? In order to answer this question, I want to mention the current situation with the covid-19 going on. This pandemic made our communication even more dependent on our cell phones and the internet. Comfort is not the case anymore, it’s our safety that makes us communicate via the internet and not face to face, in order to maintain our health. But it can be seen that this kind of communication has made people overwhelmed and everyone is exhausted of current situation. Everyone is waiting for a chance to meet their loved ones in person. We, as humans, need to hug people we love, to kiss them and to hold their hands, and doing these kind of things are never possible via the internet. That’s why I believe that meeting someone in person would never get replaced by virtual communication via the internet, however, the internet can lower the need of face to face communication in someways. In conclusion, I believe that face to face communication will remain with us, humans, forever.