Childhood is the time when a child’s brain is amorphous and it gets developed through the information that is inculcated in him.

Childhood is the time when a child’s brain is amorphous and it gets developed through the information that is inculcated in him. Books being one of the most reliable sources of knowledge play an important role in children’s mental growth. Although I agree with the given statement, instead of pressurizing children for reading some creative method should be used. To embark upon, in early years of life, a person is not only curious but also zestful. First and foremost, reading benefits a child’s education, social and cognitive development, emotional wellbeing, as well as their mental health. To clarify, given that reading provides a person with deeper knowledge which helps in understanding things logically, this prevents a child from being credulous. To cite an example, a survey conducted by ‘Harvard University’ on two hundred juveniles revealed that 90% of these passed the reasoning ability test with more than 80% marks. The children who cleared this test were those who loved reading books. Furthermore, regular and consistent reading enhances a person’s concentration ability meanwhile helping a person to be more creative and imaginative. To explain, reading a book relies on children using their imagination for picturing characters, visualizing their settings and environment, along with this guessing about the rest of the story. To cite an example, if children want to pursue careers like designers, home décor artists, painters, poets, or writers, creativity is the key to all of these career choices. On the contrary, despite having enormous benefits of reading books, pressurizing kids would cause disinterestedness towards books in young minds. To substantiate, overwhelming children with knowledge could make a child both more prone to stress and socially outcast. To illustrate, Dr. Sigmund Freud, who is known as the founding father of psychoanalysis, wrote in his book that forcing a child to read eventually creates a feeling of dread in a child's mind, due to which reading feels monotonous like a chore. To encapsulate, it can be concluded that reading is a ‘stable source of information’ throughout a child’s life. Since stability is beneficial for children growing up in challenging circumstances, indulging children in reading is necessary. Provided that parents and teachers help children finding a genre that intrigues them specially for those who hate reading, would help children in developing interest in reading.