Central and local government make a frantic attempt to promote festivals to create a lot of revenue. Some people think this money should be invested in social programs for the poor.

Nowadays, governments make a great deal of money via promoting festivals. However, the issue of how and where governments should spend this revenue is still widely debated, with some people claiming that is should be invested in embarking on welfare services for poor members of society. Personally, I entirely accept this, and will explain why in this essay. Firstly, we have to consider that poverty is a universal problem that affects every nation on earth_ both rich and poor. For example, in African countries, we see a flood of emigrants leaving their poor nations to find better highly paid jobs with high-quality working conditions as well as better quality of life in wealthy countries. This phenomenon causes a very real threat to both destination countries and countries of origin in terms of crime and losing human capital, respectively. Furthermore, low-income households and high-income families living within a country are influenced negatively by increased poverty rates as well. In this case, the impoverished may engage in criminal acts such as kidnappings and burglaries to survive. Therefore, poverty leads to serious consequences for not only deprived but also wealthy. A further reason to support this idea is the development aspect. For a society to make progress, not only does it need investors but also it needs productive and responsible workers. Most of the impoverished are potentially valuable members who seek opportunity to lift themselves and their families out of poverty. By providing them with welfare-type programs such as social protection systems, vulnerable families can become productive members of society. In fact, if such safety net programs are well-designed and implemented, they can powerfully enhance human capital and productivity, reduce inequalities and end the inter-generational cycle of poverty. As a result, such government welfare programs give impoverished individuals a chance to climb out of poverty and boost shared prosperity among society citizens. To conclude, I feel that investing the revenue in welfare programs such as cash assistance programs and social safety net programs for people living below the poverty level should be governments' main priority. If these social programs are implemented wisely, it would alleviate poverty and reduce inequality in society, which in turn brings about permanent happiness to the whole members of society, unlike festivals which make people experience temporary joy.