Causes of high stress among college students

We all live with stress, the tension we feel when faced with a new situation or threat. College students are no different from anyone else; they also experience the stresses present in their life. There are many things that cause stress for college students: new environment, academic pressure, ineffective time management and financial stress. One of the causes of stress in college students is new environment. This is because most students face difficult challenge of finding their own identity as an adult. Most students have to separate from their family. They are the time for themselves to start independent lives. For example, no longer living with their family, not being taken care of in every way, and having to do everything by themselves such as practise housekeeping, manage a budget, take care of themselves and overcome their fear of themselves. Another cause of college stress is academic pressure. This is because teachers handed out homework assignment and submitted in strict deadlines. They often worry about exams or academic performance and pass with flying colours. Pressure from parents that they are in no way inferior to their friends. For instance, students who are often overwhelmed with hectic schedules, they have to study all day at school and may have to attend extra classes at night, then comeback home to complete their homework. Student stress may result from ineffective time management. This means that students are overwhelmed by the demands of work, family, and school schedules. They do not know what to do first in awful lots of work. They did not have time to relax so that they always feel tired with everything around them. Because they do not how to organize time properly so that feeling too much to deal with while, not enough time to do it. Student stress is caused by financial problems. This is because many students also encounter financial problems due to unreasonable expenditure. For instance, students will often spend too much when they just receive money from their parents, so they do not have enough money before at the end of the month. In addition, for families who can not afford the cost of studying and living in big cities. Advertising and consumerism can make students demanding. In conclusion, there are some several reasons for high stress among college students. The new environment, academic pressure, ineffective time management and financial problems can be said to contribute the causes of stress for college students. I hope that students will research the causes and the consequences of stress and find out the way to prevent themselves from falling into stress.