Causes and Solutions - Topic: Traffic problems

One vital factor of traffic jams is the increase in the number of private vehicle owners. In reality, due to the huge number of commuters, traffic congestion appears most of the time, especially in rush hours. For example, over the last 3 years, more than 70% of citizens in Ha Noi own private vehicles such as cars or motorbikes. As a consequence, the traffic blockade in Ha Noi has become significantly more acute than expected. Therefore, the government should have a new policy of higher taxes which can hit directly in the buying decision of people who use gasoline-powered vehicles. Levying higher taxes can reduce the number of cars and motorbikes as people would be discouraged to purchase more money on expensive fuel and take public transportation in order to save up money. Another critical reason for traffic jams is the shortage of local public transport facilities. In developing countries such as Viet Nam, bus is the only public transportation that people can easily access. But huge drawbacks of buses are that they can get crowded in peak-hour and poor condition makes passengers uncomfortable. Thus, commuters prefer their private vehicle rather than spend money for an unpleasant experience in packed buses and this can lead to traffic congestion. In order to solve this problem, the government should spend more money on ameliorating public transportation. Increasing the number of buses, improving the furniture can attract people to come across this kind of public transport and also help them to save up money on account of heavy environmental taxes.