causes and effects on overconsumption of fast food in children

It is undoubted that unhealthy food, namely junk food and convenient snacks, are becoming more prevalent in the modern era, especially to teenagers. According to statistics, numerous young generations all over the world tend to consume a significant amount of that unhealthy food. This essay is going to figure out the causes as well as the negative consequences relates to this tendency. It is obvious that the appearance of fast food advertisements is one of the key factors leading to the overconsumption of that unhealthy food. In effect, these advertisements usually attract a large portion of children by applying eye-biding images and offering several good promotions. Associating unbeatable prices with complimentary gifts is the wise tactic of fast food outlets to appeal to young customers about choosing fast food over healthy homemade one. Particularly, as a matter of fact, KFC advertisements generally attract children’s attention by applying vivid images to boost their popular fried chickens. Obtaining a free toy when customers purchase in the combo is the top reason leading youngsters to consume a big portion. While the occasional night of junk food won’t hurt much, eating junk food regularly or overconsumption has been shown to cause numerous adverse impacts on human health. According to certain scientific researches, not only do junk foods have relatively low nutritional value but it also comprises a significantly high amount of calories and fat content. This is one of the most reasons why junk food tends to increase the risks of obesity, high blood pressure, and heart diseases as well. For instance, it is obvious that fried chicken at KFC is genuinely appealing due to its flavors. Nevertheless, the more an individual consumes this kind of fast food, the more health issues they may undergo. Furthermore, the mere intake of fast food instead of proper sit-down meals is the remarkable factor directly affecting the bond of the family. Instead of spending time in the kitchen and at a grocery store preparing a meal, individuals can spend mere minutes at a fast-food restaurant. Undoubtedly, with those fast-food meals, they could eat anywhere at any time, even in their cars. Due to this, proper sit-down meals with family seems to vanish gradually. As a consequence, members of a family do not have opportunities to talk, interact or even exchange stories with each other. In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for children consuming significantly more junk food. As a result, the downside would emerge consequently in terms of health.