Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now "one big traffic jam". How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, the trend of buying a car increases faster comparing to thirty years ago and this causes many traffic problems. In my view, having more and more vehicles on the road, leads to a great amount of dangerous events for the environment as well as for the global population. For example, the air in the major cities is getting polluted and because of that many people develop sicknesses like asthma. Furthermore, too many cars means traffic jams, which leads to delayed deliveries for important exports like food. Not only that, but the planet suffers due to the increased gases. As a result of that, the global warming occurred and is presenting a very big threat for the human beings. The governments should take action and try to prevent this events from happening. Firstly, a big tax for owning a car can be applied. This would decrease the amount of vehicles. Another thing that can be done is setting a law of limited number of cars, owned by a family. Also, the governments can impose a ban for vehicles with great emissions. Furthermore, the access of public transport can be improved, the usage of bicycles can be advertised and a lot of bicycle lanes can be build. This will provide people with faster routes to their destinations, instead of waiting in a traffic jam. In conclusion, with the increasing number of cars in the big cities, not only the economy suffers but also the population. Different measurments are needed urgently to stop all this bad events from happening. We all deserve a better place to live in.