Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years. What are the reasons for that? Is this a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, practically every family has at least one car. Over the past three decades, this number has escalated expeditiously. There are different reasons and different effects that this progress in vehicle production can have on people and the environment both. To start with, there is a variety of answers to the question, why is this happening. The most important here is the necessity to get somewhere. For example, if someone needs to go far, it will be more complicated to do it by riding a horse or bicycle, in view of the fact that it will require much more time than using an automobile. Secondly, it happens because of comfortable conditions in cars. To illustrate, while riding a horse (which was the best transport for centuries) it is easy to fall out or hit a branch while riding a bicycle it is needed to use body energy, whereas when driving a car, the only thing that is essential is to press pedals. If to pass to pros and cons of this progress, there are a lot of them, and for every person they can be different. On the one hand, the availability of a car equals freedom of moving and traveling. Everyone who has his or her private car can easily go or stop wherever they want. On the other hand, having a car means remuneration of taxes, petrol and paying for parking. Moreover, the abundance of vehicles is one of the main causes of air pollution, global warming, and other environmental issues. To conclude, for some reasons private cars play a vital role in nowadays life. The lives of people would be tough as torture if cars did not exist. Despite all of the disadvantages of using it, the advantages of the improvement in this sphere will not let people stop driving them.