Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

It is widely believed that the number of car owners has spiraled out of control, which has led to terrible traffic congestion frequently in many cities over the last 30 years. In my opinion, I agree with this statement because it increases the number of vehicles on the road, so it will create bad traffic congestion. In this essay, I am going to explain this reason and give some solutions for curtailing using of cars in cities. Obviously, the increasing number of private cars swell the ranks of vehicles riding on the road. Therefore, it causes bad traffic jams. Take Hanoi as an example; the annual rise rate of car ownership in this city was 20% in 2019, which makes Hanoi is grappling with bad traffic jams in on-peak hours in recent years. It has an extremely adverse effect on people’s daily lives. However, I believe that there is also some plausible solution for the municipal governments, which may reduce congestion risks. Firstly, the authorities can increase the inner-city road tax for private cars. It is clear that when the expenses for a car go up, owners will bound to consider using private cars. Hanoi, for example, the government decided to impose a new tax law for private cars last year, from 1000 dollars up to 2500 dollars and the register for a new car will charge extra 10% of the car’s value. It has made people rethink owning or using a private car. There are also many other measures for helping ease traffic, such as raising traffic law implementation awareness or building new roads, etc. But it seems for long-term plans. In conclusion, I believe that the increase of car owners is one of the reasons for the terrible traffic congestion, but by rising toll, raising awareness or building roads, the government may dishearten people from using their cars.