Car ownership has increased rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam '. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

According to some masses, four wheelers ownership has jumped up drastically over the past three decades that a lot of towns globally are facing a huge vehicle jam today. According to my view, this statement is totally correct as every home has a vehicle nowadays. I believe that, in the present time, car is taken as a sign of wealth by every individual. Everyone desires of owing a car whether they need it or not. For instance, a wealthy person buys several cars for showing off, in the same process the employees get attracted towards it and as a result a huge amount of car is running over the road. Similarly, to get to work on time, a private vehicle is need as the public vehicles are not reliable and trustworthy. For illustration, if we have to reach anywhere in 10 minutes then the very public means of transportation would reach a bit later. So, people are compelled to own their car. Government can operate more public vehicles so that a lot of people can be commute through a single vehicle rather than a single person in a single car. Similarly, government could increase the price of petroleum so that people would be compelled to use bycycle so that there would not be a lot of traffic in the huge cities. Furthermore, automatic vehicle could be introduced and encouraged which is possible by the enhancement in science and technology. For illustration, the automatic vehicle would run without driver and could go wherever it is need so only few amount of vehicle is needed. To conclude, innovative and modern ideas should be introduced by the government. Aiding to that people can walk on foot in short distances to reduce the jam.