Cancer medically known as malignant neoplasm is a genetic condition caused by changes to genes that control the way the cell functions, especially the way the cells grow and divide. It can either be inherited or arise from certain environmental exposures or genetic changes that occur because of errors as cells divide.

Cancer medically known as malignant neoplasm is a genetic condition caused by changes to genes that control the way the cell functions, especially the way the cells grow and divide. It can either be inherited or arise from certain environmental exposures or genetic changes that occur because of errors as cells divide. Cells have different mechanisms to restrict cell division, repair DNA damage and prevent the development of cancer. Multiple mechanisms must fail before a critical mass is reached and cells become cancerous. Different types of cancer involve different types of mutations, and, each individual tumor has a unique set of genetic alterations. Genetic changes occur in three main types of genes: Proto-oncogens, tumor suppressor genes and DNA repair genes that can contribute to cancer. The uncontrolled proliferation of cells are usually linked to a series of changes in the activity of two types of cell cycle regulators: Positive regulators that may be over activated (become oncogenic) and negative regulators, also called tumor suppressors which might get inactivated. For example an important tumor suppressors is tumor protein p53 that control cell cycle progression, apoptosis, cellular sequence, DNA repair and genome maintenance. P53 primarily acts at the G1 where it blocks cell cycle progression in response to damaged DNA or other unfavorable condition. Chemotherapy agents target different parts of the cell cycle and have different mechanisms of action and target different parts. The cycle repeats itself with various checkpoints that makes sure that there are no abnormalities in the cell before it progresses to each phase. These checkpoints include the G1 checkpoint which checks the damaged DNA, the G2 checkpoint that checks the un-replicated or damaged DNA and the M phase checkpoint that looks for chromosome misalignment, they look at whether their abnormalities damaged the DNA.