Can we learn more from higher level people?

Can we learn more from people at a higher level than from people who are at the same level? Knowledge has always been one of the most important factors that helped our society to reach the level of development that it has today. That knowledge has been gained by studying, practicing, being taught, or experiencing something, which constitutes the process of learning (“Learning Definition & Meaning. ” Merriam-Webster). Regarding the process of being taught by someone, there is a controversy based on whether higher level people can teach us more than people who are at the same level as us. A higher-level person, for example a teacher or a leader, has more knowledge and experience, elements that are valuable in the process of learning something form those individuals. A person who is at the same level as us, usually, has the same knowledge as we do so the amount of information, we can learn from them decreases exponentially. I strongly believe that I can learn more from a person who is on a higher level than me, because they already possess a lot more knowledge and with the help of their experience the information can be taught easier. Firstly, the element that makes higher level people better teachers is the amount of information they possess. It is true that we can learn from the people at the same level as us, but the amount of knowledge and the way it is explained lacks compared to the way a higher-level person teaches. For example, recently I could not attend one of my classes, which made me ask another student how one of the problems we had as homework should be solved. The other student could not explain to me because they did not possess the necessary knowledge that a teacher has. In the end I had to ask the professor, a person who is at a higher level than me, to explain. Another fact that supports my opinion regarding the statement is that previous experience of an individual makes teaching and the learning process of the other person easier. The experience that someone gained over time makes them understand better how to teach a certain thing because they encountered a real-life situation when they used it. A person at the same level as us, usually, has the same experience as we do, this element making us the same level. An example that supports this argument is the fact that a first-year student could not manage to explain an economic concept the same way a professor could because the student does not have enough experience working with those concepts. Another example is the situation in which chess masters (players with more experience) were able to make higher quality moves than lesser experienced players (Bransford, John D, et al. How people learn Vol. 11) which makes them better teachers. Lastly, we can learn more and easier from higher-level people because we perceive them as our superiors, our leaders which make us pay more attention to the things they are saying. Because they are our superiors, they tend to know more things and we have a natural need for a person to lead us, therefore we can learn more from higher level people because we have a natural tendency to rely more on them (Jonathan Sandling “3 Reasons Why We Need Leaders. ”). Personally, I tend to listen more to what a professor is saying, so I learn more from them because I perceive them as a leading figure, than what one of my fellow students or friends are saying. Considering all of these, higher-level people are the ones we can learn more from, because they are more experienced and are at that level due to the amount of knowledge they have and can transmit to others. Even if we can learn some things from the people at the same level as we are, the quantity is not the same because they usually posses the same knowledge as we do. Works cited “Learning. ” Merriam-Webster. com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, www. merriam-webster. com/dictionary/learning. Accessed 27 Dec. 2021. Bransford, John D, et al. How people learn. Vol. 11. Washington, DC: National academy press, 2000. Sandling, Jonathan. "3 Reasons Why We Need Leaders". JONATHAN SANDLING, jonathansandling. com/3-reasons-why-we-need-leaders/. Accessed 2 Jan. 2022