Can we do without television?

We talk a lot these days about the ubiquity of television, which has become one of the most important sources of information. For some, it represents the only window open to the world, according to others, it constitutes a serious threat to our culture. Taking into account the advantages and disadvantages of this little magic box, the question we ask ourselves is the following: Is television an essential tool? First, we will discuss the advantages of this little magic box. We will then look at its drawbacks. We are talking about the ubiquity of television. First of all, we can say that TV saves us the detour to the cinema. In fact, you don't have to be constantly on the move to see a new movie that you can see at home. Then we can add that the small screen offers us a pleasant pastime, entertainment, even relaxation after a long stressful day. It is certain that the viewer is invited to provide less effort than reading a book for example. In addition, television channels present a significant advertising support which helps stimulate the economy and create jobs. Finally, television informs us of what is happening in the world and it makes us discover other countries, their traditions, their ways of life. Therefore, it gives us the power to compare and understand that we are not the center of the world, that other countries are doing equally interesting things. As a result, we no longer feel superior or smarter; we see our shortcomings. However, it should be noted that television also has several negative aspects. First of all, it must be said that this is a passive media. Thus, the viewer is subject to progressive stupefaction. Devoid of any critical mind, he quickly becomes the object of televisual manipulation. He no longer thinks, he "swallows" everything that is presented to him. Secondly, let's not forget that we are dealing with an individual media: everyone is fascinated by the magic box and forgets what surrounds it. This could lead to a deterioration in family life, not to mention arguments caused by disagreement over the evening's program. Thirdly, doctors say that watching TV too often is bad for your health: the eyes suffer and the viewer, immobile and gorging on crisps, chocolate and other high-calorie products, risks gaining weight. Some cannot do without TV, which becomes a real drug on which they are addicted. During a power failure, these people are literally “in need”. Finally, many critics accuse the television channels of broadcasting too many scenes of violence, which risks increasing the aggressiveness of young people. For sociologists, this film brutality is one of the main causes of violence among young people today. Blood crime is trivialized; murder is becoming a habit. In the light of all this (all these arguments) we can say that television has / occupies a large place in our life. This is not to say that this magic box is considered a very useful / important tool. Indeed, it is a handicap to have a good time in the family and for healthier life. Nevertheless, it's practical and entertaining, even helping to boost the economy. It should therefore be used in moderation to avoid its dangers, but is it possible to learn to watch television? /. . to change our television viewing habits?